Queensland Day

Queensland day title

The Celebration of Queensland's Anniversary of Foundation


Queensland Day is June 6. Generally the day is incorporated into a week of celebrations which focus on the State's history and development, the people of Queensland and their achievements.

Queensland Day itself acknowledges the birth of Queensland as a self-governing colony, the anniversary of the date on which Queen Victoria signed documents granting Queensland the right to its own representative government and appointing Queensland's first Governor, Sir George Bowen.

From 1859 to 1901, Queensland had the status of a self-governing colony. From 1 January 1901, Queensland became one of the six founding States of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Since 1981, Queensland's birthday has been officially celebrated and promoted by the State Government.


Queensland Week website

Indigenous and European settlement

Queensland State Badge

Queensland State Badge 


Queenslander of the Year

2010 Dimity Dornan AM 

2009 Sergeant Jim Bellos

2008 Graeme Wood

2007 Professor Matthew Sanders

2006 Professor Ian Frazer

2005 Dr Geoff Hill

2004 Chris Sarra

2003 Alan Mackay-Sim

2002 John Eales

2001 Lloyd Hancock

2000 Dr Aila Keto

1999 Margot Appleyard

1998 Betty Byrne Henderson

1997 Cedric Johnson

1996 Christina Yeomans

1995 Dr Cherrell Hirst

1994 Allan Border

1993 Mary Lowe

1992 Graham Jenkinson

1991 Leneen Forde

1990 Clem Jones

1989 Sister Angela Mary Doyle

1988 Sir Llewellyn Edwards

1987 Reverend Canon John Warby

1986 Dr Russell Strong

1985 Iris Buntine

1984 Ron Grant

1983 Sir Edward Williams

1982 Robin Gibson

1981 Lady Cilento


 Young Queenslander of the Year

2010 Yassmin Abdel-Magied

2009 Chiu-Hing Chan

2008 Homa Forotan

2007 Lars Olsen

2006 Leisel Jones

2005 Alen-Igor O'Hran

2004 Leisl Packer

2003 Alice Chang

2002 Danielle Begg

2001 Mark Farrell

2000 James Moody

1999 Petros Khalesirad

1998 Tiffany Dudman

1997 Perry Cross

1996 Tarita Botsman and Michael Kasprowicz

1995 Nicholas Gerathy

1994 Lana Higson

1993 John McColl and Kylie Buchanan

1992 Danae Sweetapple

1991 Roger Lord

1990 Aaron Maree

1989 Joanne Hein