Latest News

A selection of recent media releases, and news stories is available in the database below and can be searched for by year and month. 

Media enquiries 

Please phone 0436 678 215 or 07 3858 5700.

Back to all media releases

Friday 27 April 2018

His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC, Governor of Queensland, will present 10 North Queensland residents with honours and awards under the Australian honours system at a special ceremony in Townsville on Monday 30 April 2018.

Full citations for all recipients are included on the following pages.

Presenting awards and honours under the Australian honours system – the highest form of recognition in Australia – is one of the Governor’s key ceremonial duties. For further information about the Australian honours system please visit

This will be the first time the Australian Corrections Medal has been presented.

What:              Townsville Investiture Ceremony

Where:           Ballroom 2, The Ville Resort-Casino, Townsville

When:             9.00am (media should arrive by 8.45am), Monday 30 April 2018

Interviews and photographs (by mutual agreement with recipient) with recipients can take place after the presentation ceremony and official photograph.

The formal elements of an Investiture Ceremony normally take 30 minutes.

As this is a formal occasion, please ensure all media representatives are suitably attired (no thongs or sandals, collared shirts).

For further information please contact Louise Ahern, Communication and Media Coordinator on 0436 678 215

At this Investiture Ceremony, the Governor will invest the following honours and awards:

  • Order of Australia: Member of the Order of Australia (AM), Medal of the Order of Australia General Division (OAM), Medal of the Order of Australia Military Division (OAM (Mil))
  • Meritorious Awards: Public Service Medal (PSM), Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM), Emergency Service Medal (ESM), Australian Corrections Medal (ACM) 



Associate Professor Henrietta Lilian MARRIE

For significant service to the community as an advocate for Indigenous cultural heritage and intellectual property rights through contributions to advisory committees, reference groups and membership and management of a range of other bodies, and to education through university teaching positions and publication of numerous academic papers and journal articles.


Mr Bernard Anthony McCARTHY

For outstanding public service to local government in positions to the level of Chief Executive Officer in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria and the Northern Territory for over 47 years, recently ensuring appropriate community communication in delivering infrastructure projects and contributing to community safety through implementation of a CCTV system.


Mr Edward Alphonse NATERA

For outstanding public service to local government and Indigenous communities in Queensland through service as Chief Executive Officer of Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council and through encouraging economic development opportunities, educational initiatives, and social welfare programs that engage the community while ensuring that traditions and the environment are preserved.


Mr Kevin William ANDERSON

For exemplary dedication to fire services for over 30 years, serving as Second Officer with the Crystal Creek Rural Fire Brigade and implementing training and sustainable fire management strategies across northern Queensland through the Gulf Fire Management Project and consultation with traditional landowners, graziers, miners and volunteer firefighters.



For over 50 years of continuous service to the Cowley Beach community as a member of the Lower Cowley Brigade, participating in severe weather responses, demonstrating commitment to the safety of his community, and acting in voluntary roles with the Rural Fire Brigades Association of Queensland.



For outstanding service over 25 years as a member of the Queensland State Emergency Service, demonstrating exceptional knowledge and expertise as well as innovation, resourcefulness, reliability and integrity in his commitment to prevention, preparedness and recovery activities, notably in the Whitsunday region as Divisional Commander during Cyclone Debbie.


Mr Leslie Joseph ELLIOTT

For service to Queensland Corrective Services for 39 years in positions ranging from prison officer to manager of the fully functional farm at Lotus Glen Correctional Centre, overseeing production of beef, timber, fruit and vegetables, and providing daily services to the communities of the Atherton Tableland and Cassowary Coast.


Mr Peter John GRAHAM

For service to the community of Weipa for more than 20 years as a member of marine rescue organisations and the Weipa Counter Disaster Management Team, as a Councillor and committee chairman for the Weipa Town Authority, and as a board member of Cape York Sustainable Futures.


Mrs Margaret Eileen SHAW

For noteworthy service to the community of North Queensland since 2011 as a community advocate for equitable insurance premiums and as community representative on the Advisory Panel for the Northern Australian Insurance Premiums Taskforce, her commitment to the community being acknowledged through several service and citizenship awards.


Warrant Officer Class One Terry William HANGAN

For meritorious service, dedication, professionalism and outstanding leadership as Regimental Sergeant Major of the Army Aviation Training Centre, the 6th Aviation Regiment and the 5th Aviation Regiment, making an exceptional contribution to the Australian Defence Force capability through his commitment to soldier welfare and the introduction of lasting improvements.