Australian Honours

The Australian Honours System recognises the special contribution Australian citizens make to their communities across a range of activities. Examples of voluntary or professional excellence in a field of endeavour, significant achievement, meritorious service or bravery demonstrated locally, nationally or overseas, is considered and recognised through this system.

A rigorous process that follows the highest standards of integrity and quality helps identify and honour these recipients. 

Why are honours & awards important?  

Australia’s system of honours and awards helps strengthen the fabric of our nation and shape our aspirations. The system formally acknowledges the achievements of Australian role models from all walks of life and provides a way to publicly recognise and appreciate their contributions. 

Presentation of Honours in Queensland

Each year the Governor takes great pride in hosting investiture ceremonies at Government House in Brisbane and in the north of the State to confer awards and honours presented to Queensland citizens who have made a difference to their communities.             

While many people in the community know about the Order of Australia and the Australian Bravery Decorations, which are announced on Australia Day (26 January) and on The Queen’s birthday public holiday in June, there are many other awards recognising community service, achievement, and service to the Australian Defence Force. 

To access more information about the Australian Honours System, including nomination forms for awards, visit the Australian Honours System website

Nomination forms are also available from:

The Honours Secretariat
Government House
Canberra ACT 2600
Ph: (02) 6283 3533

Director, Protocol Branch
Department of the Premier & Cabinet
Executive Building
Brisbane Q 4000
Ph: (07) 3224 5921

Government House
GPO Box 434
Brisbane Qld 4001
Ph: (07) 3858 5700